#1 ShereeMMG

ShereeMMG
  • Casita Club Member
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 02:04 PM
  • Casita Model/Size:2018 17' Liberty Deluxe

Posted 29 April 2018 - 07:50 AM

Howdy folks,

We're new Casita owners, a 1999 17' Spirit Deluxe. We're looking forward to many adventures, the first big one being a 4 -6 week trip from Austin, Tx to Vancouver, BC, Canada. The trailer has had some new parts over the past few years so I think everything is working well for this first, and long trip. However, I welcome and insights, suggestions and comments on what I should do, have checked, repaired/replaced and what to anticipate for this type of trip. I'm new to trailering so every bit of advice is welcome. 

Thanks and we hope to see some of you on the road.

Take care,

Sheree and Mary Margaret

#2 clairemr1

clairemr1
  • Casita Club Member
  • 1,453 posts
  • Casita Model/Size:2013 Patriot Deluxe - 13'
  • Interests:Kayaking, birdwatching, hiking
  • Trailer Name:Sassie Cassie

Posted 29 April 2018 - 09:07 AM

hi, sheree, congrats on your purchase! hope you enjoy many trouble-free years with your casita. as far as what to check, i'd have someone qualified go over the entire trailer, checking out all components. i would look especially at your tires, including the spare (how old are they?), wheel bearings/brakes (when did they last do a full service?), axle and frame. if this is the original axle, it may need to be replaced at 20 yrs of age, as that is well beyond it's expected life.i'd have them check the frame for cracks as well, so you don't have a failure somewhere on the road.