9 replies to this topic

#1 jandvis

jandvis
  • Casita Club Member
  • 27 posts
  • Local time: 08:13 AM
  • Casita Model/Size:Independance 17'

Posted 21 August 2014 - 06:24 PM

I'm a newbie and have a lot to learn so patience please. I wanted to check the water in the battery but don't know how to access it. I expected it to slide out but I see angle iron in front of the battery with a wing nut and bold. Some instructions will be greatly appreciated.

Jan

#2 Retired in Reno

Retired in Reno
  • Casita Club Member
  • 23 posts
  • Local time: 06:13 AM
  • Casita Model/Size:17' Liberty Deluxe

Posted 21 August 2014 - 06:46 PM

Remove the wing nut and that right angle bracket comes off, then slide the battery out. You'll probably want to put a step stool or something in front of it to hold it stable while you check it, I've seen a mod on one of the forums where there is a block of wood made to lock in under the bracket and create a kind of extendable shelf, but I bit the bullet and bought one of those kits on Amazon or Camping World that replaces the battery covers with a refill system, makes it easy to fill without removing the battery at all, was about $70, I think.

#3 fella10

fella10
  • Casita Club Member
  • 430 posts
  • Casita Model/Size:SD 17'

Posted 21 August 2014 - 07:41 PM

I'm a newbie and have a lot to learn so patience please. I wanted to check the water in the battery but don't know how to access it. I expected it to slide out but I see angle iron in front of the battery with a wing nut and bold. Some instructions will be greatly appreciated.

jandvis, ......