How to Solar Power Your Casita

• Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1 k4fcp

k4fcp
  • Casita Club Member
  • 60 posts
  • Local time: 12:25 AM
  • Interests:I teach 6th Grade Math and Science at Blacksburg Middle School. I try to camp year-round and have solar powered my 13'. I usually try to camp where I can canoe, kayak, hike, and can usually be found operating a ham radio at my campsite.

Posted 10 April 2009 - 04:53 AM

Hi Everyone!
Sorry for the delay. I had to have some hardware removed "immediately" after a routine visit to my orthopaedic surgeon. FUN! Thanks to everyone, especially Aileen and Sandi) for their suggestions and assistance. Most of you told me that you wanted it to be simple as possible. I tried to do that and to assume that most had no idea about how to solar power your Casita. Please remember that I am not a professional writer (by any stretch), so feel free to drop me a note with any and all questions you may have. Due to my recent surgery, I've got LOTS of free time!

HAM OPERATORS! I do have a pretty slick way of adding another battery for extra reserve power. It's easy, simple, and fat free!! I'll post this in the next week or so.

Please don't forget to ask question!!!

Rich
Rich Beamish, k4fcp@arrl.net
1994 13' Casita solar-powered
2001 Nissan Frontier KC 4x4
http://richbeamish.m...bumName=album01

#2 Joe Z

Joe Z
  • Casita Club Member
  • 1,998 posts
  • Local time: 09:25 PM
  • Interests:Member Since
    Jan 21 2005
  • Trailer Name:AZ Snowball

Posted 10 April 2009 - 06:06 AM

Rich
Thanks for taking the time to write that up..... Although i already have Solar it sure is a great refresher course to keep current. for those that don't have solar this simple explanation is a "Must Read" This would be nice to save somewhere on the forum but i already saved it to my computer......
biggrin.gif Joe

Joe & Linda
Dodge Ram 4x4

#3 ArizonaEileen

ArizonaEileen
  • Rally Organizer
  • 4,074 posts
  • Local time: 08:25 PM