4 replies to this topic

#1 PinkFloydBham

PinkFloydBham
  • Casita Club Member
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 11:34 PM
  • Casita Model/Size:Independence dlx 17 foot

Posted 28 May 2019 - 01:31 PM

Hi, I am new to this forum. I just picked up a 2019 ID and am upgrading the electrical system. I am installing a Tesla 5.3 Kw battery supplied by 4, 160 watt panels. I am making up cables to connect the components as I speak. I am relatively new to this and have a question to anybody who has gotten involved in alternate power supplies for these little domiciles. I intend to be capable of running off grid for  more remote adventures but I want to be able to take of advantage of shore power when available to run the ac during hot weather (sans generator). 

I want to have my electrical system automatically switch from the self powered solar system to shore power when I plug into a public 30 amp source like a camp ground or my house. It was suggested that I use an AC DPDT electromagnetic relay. It switches magnetically from the solar to shore power when ever the circuit is energized by plugging in to the grid.

Does anybody out there have any experience with these relays? any comments as to feasibility would be appreciated.

I thought the use of an automatic transfer switch was going to be helpful but it is not action I need since it senses the state of charge and switches over to public power when the solar is low. I attached a screen shot of a dpdt relay but I need 120 volt rather that the 12v dc shown.

Thanks,

Pink Floyd

Attached Thumbnails

• DPDT relay.PNG

#2 PinkFloydBham

PinkFloydBham
  • Topic Starter
  • Casita Club Member
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 June 2019 - 04:11 PM

Problem solved.    -------   FYI.