#1 Scotsman

Scotsman
  • Casita Club Member
  • 14 posts
  • Local time: 06:35 AM
  • Casita Model/Size:Spirit Deluxe 17

Posted 29 August 2018 - 02:39 PM

Hi,

I live in Medford, in Southern Oregon and this is my first attempt at posting, and I have a new to me 2002 Spirit Deluxe that I am troubleshooting to get it ready for it's maiden voyage.  It must have had several maiden voyages already but not with me.

My water heater (WH) has a couple issues that I can't resolve on my own.

The first one is pretty straightforward in that the WH bypass valve drips water slowly but surely, from the lever and maybe from a water connection too so I believe I just need to replace that valve?  Should I replace the hand-tightened fittings and or pex if it leaks too?

Secondly and more confusing to me is the lack of any water from any of the hot water knobs in the rv.  This lack of water flow exists even when the bypass valve is horizontal, bypassing the WH. Should I be getting water to my hot water knobs when this bypass is in that position?  And when the lever is vertical my wh tank fills until water comes out of the pressure relief valve outside but still there is no water going to any faucet.

The cold knobs all work fine.

I assumed this might be a stuck check valve where the hot water comes out of the tank so I tapped it quite a few times, sometimes pretty hard, to no avail.  Does this mean that check valve is toast?

Can anyone shed light on my problems?

Thanks for a great forum and all the terrific info you have all provided over the years.

Scotsman

Attached Thumbnails

• IMG_5765A.jpg
  • IMG_5775.JPG
  • IMG_5766.JPG

• Radarader likes this

#2 Meadowlark

Meadowlark
  • Casita Club Member
  • 2,897 posts
  • Local time: 05:35 AM
  • Casita Model/Size:2011 17 ft Spirit Deluxe
  • Interests:Dressage, birding, camping, reading, traveling with my photographer husband and our two cats, cooking.
    Retired US Army, active field biologist.
  • Trailer Name:Grus Egg