• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 cybercuban

cybercuban
  • Casita Club Member
  • 10 posts
  • Local time: 06:03 AM
  • Casita Model/Size:TBD
  • Interests:Camping, forests, rivers, creeks, the ocean, singing, dancing, cooking and the old fashioned reading of a good book in my hands - not a screen.

Posted 20 December 2015 - 06:25 PM

In my sixties, I have gruesomely accepted the fact that I am an endangered species.  I am a native of south Florida and nowadays rarely meet anyone that was born here.  I am a retired midwife and now work auditing medical records. sigh . . . <_<

I love tent camping.  However, my love for nature now requires a travel trailer versus the tent.  I have been working on researching this very broad subject and have narrowed it down to:
1.  Moulded fiberglass
2.  Casita 16' or 17'
3.  Used and affordable

There are very few Casita owners in Florida compared to other parts of the U.S. and it is challenging to find a used Casita that I can afford.  However . . . I WILL SUCCEED! :dncinban:

and when I find her . . . I will perform a celebratory HAPPY DANCE!  :danc: 

#2 Tom Haberski

Tom Haberski
  • Casita Club Member
  • 170 posts
  • Local time: 05:03 AM
  • Casita Model/Size:1996 16' LD

Posted 20 December 2015 - 06:45 PM

I feel your angst.  Same age, same hankering to tent camp, but Father Time has caught up with my bones and a trailer, minimal as it is beats tenting, especially in foul weather or extended travel periods.  Woke up 4-5 years ago in February in the Panhandle of Florida, frost on the ground and both my wife and I said we're getting too old for this tent stuff.  Still tent camp some in summer, but Fall and Winter trips are now possible and pleasant.

Be patient, keep looking, stuff comes along, just not right away.

• cybercuban likes this

#3 clairemr1

clairemr1
  • Casita Club Member
  • 1,355 posts
  • Casita Model/Size:2013 Patriot Deluxe - 13'
  • Interests:Kayaking, birdwatching, hiking