17 replies to this topic

#1 Rew

Rew
  • Casita Club Member
  • 7 posts
  • Local time: 02:22 PM
  • Casita Model/Size:SD 17

Posted 13 April 2015 - 05:46 AM

I'm not an expert in solar...figuring this out as I go along with OTJ training and online research.  There doesn't appear to be a post on this forum that talks about what I have done so I thought I'd post it.  I'd love to get your feedback and questions.  This will not be a step-by-step guide...just a broad overview of what I used, where I put it, and how I did certain things.  I have a 2015 17 foot SD.

You need to consider three questions when considering solar:  how much energy do you need, how much can you generate, and how much can you store.  I made some decisions to reduce my power needs with LED lights, I have a low-power laptop, and the inverter I am using has low parasitic drain and an on/off switch.  I'll use LP to power the fridge, heat my water, and heat the cabin...all of these require 12v for circuitry, sensors, and fans/pumps, but the bulk of the energy requirements are handled by LP.  All in all, I figure I'll just need to regenerate 10-25 amp hours per day depending on outside temperatures...not much to worry about.