#1 Will in Big D

Will in Big D
  • Casita Club Member
  • 6 posts
  • Local time: 02:52 PM
  • Casita Model/Size:Spirit Deluxe 17'

Posted 01 January 2015 - 10:48 AM

New to the forum and happy to be here.

Wife and I picked up our brand new 2015 Spirit Deluxe two weeks ago, just before Christmas. I'm completely new to towing and travel trailers and have to admit to being a little nervous throughout the one-hour drive back to Dallas, especially when I actually got into Dallas and had to deal with the merge from I-45 on to I-30 east near Fair Park. But everything was fine. I've figured out that I'm going to have to abandon my old expectations about highway travel speed and get used to sticking to 60 mph.

We haven't made a real trip in the Casita yet but we hope to take a short trip to a state park or somewhere pretty soon. Would have gone this weekend but the weather forecast was discouraging (and turned out to be right) and at least the very first time I try to hook up the trailer, I'd prefer to do it in clear weather. I don't mind being confused, and I don't mind being cold and wet, but I'd prefer not to be confused and miserable at the very same time.   :)

Maybe in a week or two. But we have USED the Casita. At Christmas, our #2 daughter and her husband came to visit. We let them sleep in our bedroom in the house and wife Joan and I and our dog Arthur slept in the Casita. We loved it. It was quite cold (by Dallas standards) but the electric heater kept us very comfortable. Arthur loves it. When he sleeps in our bed in our bedroom, he understands that it's OUR bedroom and he's the guest. But we get the feeling he thinks the Casita is a dog house and we are HIS guests. Whatever makes the little guy happy.