• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 dfield

dfield
  • Casita Club Member
  • 182 posts
  • Local time: 09:10 AM

Posted 09 September 2012 - 11:39 AM

I have a 2011 17SD that has the newer 1450 watt (11.5 amp) rooftop Air Conditioner unit. Apparently the older units drew 1260 watts (8.9 amps) and would happily run on a 2000 watt generator. I suspect mine would normally require a more expensive 2500 watt genny. I asked the factory about running my A/C on 20 amp household power and was told that if you switch everything else off, the A/C should start and run on a 20amp circuit. You then start turning other stuff on until you find the overload point, and back off a little from there. :blink:

I’m just starting to learn about boon-docking and such, so I don’t know if the following is a good or dumb idea :rolleyes:

Could you find an accessible spot in the power line leading to the A/C, cut the line and install a regular 20 amp male household plug on the side leading to the A/C, and a matching female plug on the end leading to the Casita’s 120 volt power?

If the two plugs were connected, you’d still have the stock factory wiring setup. But if you unplugged them, it seems like you would totally isolate the A/C from the trailer. You could then plug a generator straight into the A/C, without anything else on the circuit to draw power. Hopefully this would let you run the A/C on a smaller generator and/or use a 20 amp house circuit without worrying about blowing the breaker. If you isolate the A/C, then everything else should continue to run off the battery... At least I think that would work.