71 replies to this topic

#1 GMehl

GMehl
  • Casita Club Member
  • 22 posts
  • Local time: 08:56 PM
  • Casita Club Directory #:11585

Posted 09 September 2010 - 11:59 AM

This may be a little controversial, but my intent is for information purposes only. The question is...... do any of you carry firearms in your Casitas for personal protection?

I grew up seeing the movie "Deliverance" at an impressionable age and have never been able to get those images out of my head! I honestly get a little skittish when dry camping. I do okay in RV parks, but state and national parks make me a little goosey.

Also, what are the rules if a bear, cougar or some other wild creature poses a threat to you or your family? Would having a firearm be a viable option in such a situation?

As I said, I'm new to this camping experience and want to do the right thing. I do hope this does not offend anyone.
Deuce and the Sixties Chick - McPherson, KS #11585
RV: 2009 17'LD w/hla - TV: 2003 Chevy Z71, 5.3 V-8, auto.

#2 moxie t moto

moxie t moto
  • Casita Club Member
  • 232 posts
  • Local time: 06:56 PM

Posted 09 September 2010 - 12:13 PM

QUOTE (GMehl @ Sep 9 2010, 12:59 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This may be a little controversial, but my intent is for information purposes only. The question is...... do any of you carry firearms in your Casitas for personal protection?

I grew up seeing the movie "Deliverance" at an impressionable age and have never been able to get those images out of my head! I honestly get a little skittish when dry camping. I do okay in RV parks, but state and national parks make me a little goosey.

Also, what are the rules if a bear, cougar or some other wild creature poses a threat to you or your family? Would having a firearm be a viable option in such a situation?

As I said, I'm new to this camping experience and want to do the right thing. I do hope this does not offend anyone.

unsure.gif